Ba La Mat pagoda
  
Update9/16/2020 9:31:10 AM
Located in Nam Pho hamlet, Phu Vang commune, Phu Vang district, Ba La Mat pagoda was founded by Administration Commissioner Nguyen Khoa Luan in 1886.

As recorded, Mr. Nguyen Khoa Luan passed the bachelor examination in 1861 and was appointed as the mandarin in several localities. Having resigned from the mandarin position, Administration Commissioner Nguyen Khoa Luan ordained in Tu Hieu pagoda and became the disciple of Venerable Hai Thieu Cang Ky. Later, he had Ba La Mat pagoda constructed to lead his religious life. In 1891, he passed bhiksu precepts at the Formal Ceremony of Ordination led by venerable Hai Thieu in Bao Quoc pagoda. Three years after that, Mr. Nguyen Khoa Luan passed Bodhisattva precepts. His Dharma name is Thanh Chan. The Venerable passed away on July 23rd 1900. Ba La Mat was renovated by later abbots such as Venerable Vien Thanh and Venerable Tri Thu. The pagoda became one of the most solemn places of worship in Hue city.


A corner in Ba La Mat pagoda (Photo: internet)


The campus of Ba La Mat pagoda (Photo: internet)


The tower tomb in Ba La Mat pagoda (Photo: internet)

Today, unique architecture still can be found in Ba La Mat pagoda. This 2.500m2 campus is still the familiar destination of Hue locals who would like to find the peace of mind.

thuathienhue.gov.vn
 Print]
Other articles
    First Previous 1 2 3 4 Next Last